Other Impulses: Poets Writing Across Genres

Always be a poet, even in prose.– Charles Baudelaire

For the Fall 2014 - Spring 2005 seasons, Poets House invites you to explore poetry’s complex relationship with fiction, memoir, essay, theater, science and more through talks, seminars, and workshops presented by leading cross-genre writers. From page to paint to stage, trace a poet’s ability to infuse, implore, recall, and awaken new possibilities in language across the arts and beyond.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014, 7:00pm
Mutants & Hybrids: Mixing Genres with Eleni Sikelianos
Listen to the program here!

Wednesday, October 15, 2014, 7:00pm
“A Sexy New Animal”: The DNA of the Prose Poem with Natasha Sajé
Listen to Part One of the program here!
Listen to Part Two of the program here!

Tuesday, October 21, 2014, 7:00pm
Architecture & Archives: The Library as Source Material with Valeria Luiselli
Listen to Valeria Luiselli's presentation here!

Thursday, November 6, 2014, 7:00pm
To Be Fair: Stephen Burt on Poetry & Criticism
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, November 8, 2014, 3:00pm: Discussion; 4:30pm: Reading
The Leopard with J.D. McClatchy

Thursday, November 20, 2014, 7:00pm
“The Proper Stuff of Fiction”: The Poet’s Novel with Laynie Browne
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, November 22, 3:00-5:00pm
Teacups Filled with Snow: Writing Poetry for Children & Young Adults with Matthea Harvey & Marilyn Nelson
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, December 6, 2014, 3:00-5:00pm
Dispatches: Poetry & Reportage with Eliza Griswold
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, December 13, 2014, 3:00-5:00pm
Exquisitely Personal: Poetry & Memoir with Nick Flynn, Sarah Manguso & Meghan O’Rourke
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, January 10, 2015, 3:00-5:00pm
Creating the Future: Art & Climate Change with Alison Hawthorne Deming
Listen to the program here!

Saturday, February 7, 2015, 3:00-5:00pm
Transgenres with Vijay Seshadri
This program has been cancelled due to a death in Mr Seshadri's family, and will be rescheduled

Saturday, April 18, 2015, 3:00-5:00pm
A Broad Margin to My Life: Maxine Hong Kingston

Saturday, April 23, 2015, 3:00-5:00pm (Rescheduled from November 15, 2014)
Hands On/Hands Off: A Seminar on Artistic Collaboration with Bill Berkson

Thursday, May 21, 2015, 7:00pm
Lines into Sentences: Prose Poetry & Fiction with Renee Gladman, Ben Lerner, & Eileen Myles

Thursday, June 4, 7:00pm
Alternate Worlds? Poetry & Popular Fiction with Laura Kasischke